Verna Wright Prize

The Verna Wright Prize is awarded to the best oral and poster presentation during the year (over two meetings) by a paid up associate member. The recipients receive £150.00 each.

In order to be considered for the prize non-members whose abstracts are accepted for presentation join the SRR as an Associate Member before the meeting.


You can read more about the Verna Wright Prize by clicking on the following image:






The criteria for judging is given below:

Oral Presentation Judging Criteria

Poster Presentation Judging Criteria

Our Previous Winners include:

The Verna Wright Prize Winner 2019 for best Oral Presentation was Kris McGill, Glasgow Caledonian University, for his presentation ‘Recruitment Challenges in Stroke Rehabilitation Randomised Controlled Trials – A Qualitative Exploration of Trialists Perspectives.  And for best Poster Presentation, Kathryn VandenBerg Glasgow Caledonian University, for her presentation ‘Support Groups for people with Aphasia: A National Survey of third sector group facilitators’.

The Verna Wright Prize winner 2018 for best oral presentation was Verity Longley, University of Manchester for her oral presentation ‘Stroke and Pre-existing Cognitive Impairment: A Qualitative study of Clinicians’ experiences’ and for the best poster presentation by an SRR Associate member was Florence Mutlow, University of Leeds ‘Investigation into the needs of informal caregivers of stroke survivors in Antananarivo, Madagascar’.

The Verna Wright Prize winner 2017 for best oral and poster presentations was Claire Mitchell, University of Manchester for her oral presentation ‘Interventions for dysarthria due to stroke and other adult-acquired, non-progressive brain injury a Cochrane systematic review’ and for her poster presentation ‘ReaDYSpeech computer therapy for people with dysarthria after stroke: could we recruit and retain to this feasibility trial?’. Claire presented both of these abstracts at the 14th Congress of the European Forum for Rehabilitation Research jointly hosted by the Society for Research in Rehabilitation in Glasgow 24-27th May 2017.

The Verna Wright Prize winner 2016 for best oral presentation was Dr Rebecca Palmer, University of Sheffield for her presentation ‘What do People with Aphasia want to be Able to Say?’ and best poster presentation was Mr Richard Morris, University of Nottingham, for his presentation ‘A Systematic Review of Peer Mentoring Interventions for People with Traumatic Brain Injury’.

The Verna Wright Prize winner 2015 for best oral presentation was Dr Lena von Koch, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden for her presentation ‘Falls in Individuals after Stroke and Predictors for Falling 6 years after Stroke: a 6 year Longitudinal Study’ and best poster presentation was Mr Cameron Lindsay, Sandwell and West Birmingham NHS Trust, for his presentation ‘Muscle Strength at Twelve Weeks Following the Early Use of Botulinum Toxin to Treat Post Stroke Spasticity’.

For a full list of past Verna Wright Prize winners dating back to 2004 click here